The Lewa Wildlife Conservancy, based at the foothills of Mount Kenya, works as a model and catalyst for the conservation of wildlife and its habitat. We do this through the protection and management of species, the initiation and support of community conservation and development programmes, and the education of neighbouring areas in the value of wildlife.

For the last three decades, our practices have resulted in thriving black rhino habitat and population, which in turn has created a robust ecosystem for a multitude of species including the endangered Grevy’s zebra, elephant, lion, cheetah, giraffe and more. We envision a future where people across Kenya value, protect and benefit from wildlife. This future depends on communities being able to derive their day-to-day livelihoods in ways that are compatible with thriving wildlife habitat. As a result, we invest heavily in the livelihoods of our neighbours through programmes in education, healthcare, water, micro-enterprise, youth empowerment and more.

As a catalyst and champion of this model that puts people at the centre of conservation, Lewa has influenced and supported the conservancy management for both private and community lands across northern Kenya.


Lewa Wildlife Conservancy – Kenya

Executive Team

Mike Watson, Chief Executive Officer
Lucy Ndirangu, Chief Administration and Operations Officer
John Kinoti, Chief Programmes and Partnerships Officer
George Rioba, Chief Financial Officer

Department Heads
Dominic Maringa, Conservation
Lawrence Mutuma, Community Development
Dorcas Njeri, Human Resources
Edward Ndiritu, Anti-Poaching
John Pameri, General Security
Adrian Paul, Operations
Purity Kinoti, Education
David Mudachi, Communication

Lewa International
Georgina Domberger, International Executive Director
Kathryn Reidy, Development Director International
Cortney Wong, Finance and Operations Director
Stephanie Erickson, Strategic Data Manager
Amanda Leon, Philanthropy Manager North America
Megan Bailey, Philanthropy Manager Europe
Erin Marteal, Individual Giving Manager International

|   How You Can Help   |




Learn More About Our Impact